The South Atlantic Conference Announces 2014 Football Preseason All-Conference Teams

The South Atlantic Conference Announces 2014 Football Preseason All-Conference Teams

ROCK HILL, S.C. ( – Defending South Atlantic Conference Champion Lenoir-Rhyne leads the League with six players on the Preseason Football All-South Atlantic Conference first-team, the League announced today.  The first team features 17 preseason All-Americans.


Mars Hill, Wingate and Carson-Newman each placed four players on the first teams, while Catawba, Newberry and Tusculum each earned three first-team selections.  Brevard rounded out the first team selections with two.


At the first-team quarterback position is 2014 Lindy's preseason honorable mention All-American W.T. Murden.  Murden threw for 1,834 yards and 16 scores a season ago.


The running back corps consists of three first-team 2014 preseason All-America selections in Shaikel Davis of Mars Hill and Lenoir-Rhyne's Jarrod Spears and Isaiah Whitaker.  Davis led the South Atlantic Conference last season with 1,254 yards on the ground.  He also chipped in eight touchdowns for the Lions.  Spears accounted for 984 rushing yards and seven scores during the 2013 campaign.  Whitaker carried in 10 TDs for the Bears and racked up 912 rushing yards a season ago.


Dimitri Holmes of Mars Hill headlines the trio of wide receivers on the first team.  Holmes, a unanimous 2014 preseason All-American, finished the 2013 season ranked No. 2 in the nation with 144.6 receiving yards per game.  He hauled in 15 scores to rank No. 5 in Division II, while amassing 1,591 receiving yards to rank fourth.  He is eight touchdowns away from the SAC career mark and is just 270 yards shy of the SAC career record.


Justin Houston and Deon Hicks from Tusculum joined Holmes on the first-team at the wide out position.  Houston, a 2014 preseason All-American, finished second in the League a season ago as he racked up 1,347 receiving yards.  He found the end zone seven times for the Pioneers.  Teammate Hicks was right behind Houston with 784 yards.  He also hit pay dirt seven times last season.


Lenoir-Rhyne's Joe Ray anchors the first-team offensive linemen.  Ray earned 2014 preseason All-America first-team nods from and Lindy's.  Mars Hill's Denzell Goode, Taylor Fender of Catawba, Will Poteat from Wingate and Nick Allison of Mars Hill also captured first-team honors at offensive line.


At the tight end position, 2014 preseason All-American Wesley Powell earned first-team honors.  He hauled in 38 catches last season and amassed 520 yards receiving.  He averaged 13.7 yards per catch and scored four touchdowns.


Preseason All-American Patrick Smith was tabbed the first-team placekicker.  Dusty Nance of Carson-Newman is the first-team long snapper, while Kyle Clark of Newberry earned first-team honors at punter.


The first-team defensive line features three 2014 preseason All-Americans in Blake Baker of Lenoir-Rhyne,  Javaris Neal from Carson-Newman and Jonathan Jean of Catawba.  Baker was a unanimous selection and earned first-team honors from Lindy's and CDFL.  Neal was also garnered first-team honors from Lindy's.  Wingate's Nick Napolitano joined the trio on the list of first-team defensive linemen.


Baker notched 14.5 sacks, while Neal brought down the quarterback 6.5 times.  Napolitano registered five sacks and Jean chipped in a pair of sacks.


The linebacker quartet also features three preseason All-Americans, including two first-team selections.  Lenoir-Rhyne's Tanner Botts and Edmond Robinson of Newberry each earned first-team honors.  Botts notched 134 tackes, 3.5 sacks and 9.5 tackles for loss during the 2013 season.  Robinson was in on 66 tackles, to go along with 2.5 sacks and 12 tackles for loss.  Brevard's Michael Gruber and Jason Taylor of Catawba round the list of first-team linebackers.  Gruber is a Lindy's preseason All-American who notched 124 tackles last season.  Taylor finished the 2013 season with 105 tackles, two sacks and seven tackles for loss.


Eien Jacob of Carson-Newman and Lenoir-Rhyne's O'neil Blake highlight the first-team defensive backs as each earned 2014 preseason All-America honors.  Jacob posted 45 tackles a season ago and notched 11 break-ups and five interceptions.  Blake came away with 76 tackles, nine tackles for loss, three picks and 12 break-ups last season.


Jon Jimenez of Wingate and Dante Thomas from Carson-Newman also earned first-team honors at the defensive back position.  Jimenez led the Bulldogs with 88 stops, two interceptions and four break-ups.  Thomas recorded 52 tackles, eight break-ups and two interceptions.


Andre Overholt from Brevard wraps up the list of first-team selections as he earned his honor as a return specialist.  He logged 1,024 yards of return for the Tornados with a long of 57 yards.  He averaged 22.8 yards of return on kickoffs.


2014 South Atlantic Conference First and Second Team Preseason All-Conference


All-SAC First Team Offense

QB – W.T. Murden, Newberry
RB – Shaikel Davis, Mars Hill
RB – Jarrod Spears, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB – Isaiah Whitaker, Lenoir-Rhyne
WR – Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
WR – Justin Houston, Tusculum
WR – Deon Hicks, Tusculum
OL – Denzell Goode, Mars Hill
OL – Joe Ray, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL – Taylor Fender, Catawba
OL – Will Poteat, Wingate
OL – Nick Allison, Mars Hill
TE – Wesley Powell, Tusculum
LS – Dusty Nance, Carson-Newman
P – Kyle Clark, Newberry
PK – Patrick Smith, Wingate


All-SAC First Team Defense

DL – Blake Baker, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Javaris Neal, Carson-Newman
DL – Nick Napolitano, Wingate
DL – Jonathan Jean, Catawba
LB – Tanner Botts, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – Edmond Robinson, Newberry
LB – Michael Gruber, Brevard
LB – Jason Taylor, Catawba
DB – Eien Jacob, Carson-Newman
DB – O'neil Blake, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Jon Jimenez, Wingate
DB – Dante Thomas, Carson-Newman
RS – Andre Overholt, Brevard


All-SAC Second Team Offense

QB – De'Andre Thomas, Carson-Newman
RB – Kelvin Jeter, Brevard
RB – Andy Hibbett, Carson-Newman
RB – Cary Littlejohn, Catawba
WR – Jordan Berry, Wingate
WR – Anthony Eubanks, Carson-Newman
WR – Byron Dickerson, Newberry
OL – Landon Martin, Newberry
OL – Robbie Ignagni, Carson-Newman
OL – Evan Sobocinski, Newberry
OL – Billy Munker, Tusculum
OL – Mathu Gibson, Wingate
TE – Brandon Ellington, Wingate
LS – Andrew Smith, Newberry
P – Charlie Rhea, Carson-Newman
PK – Kyle Clark, Newberry


All-SAC Second Team Defense

DL – William Alderman, Carson-Newman
DL – Johnny Maxey, Mars Hill
DL – Alstevis Squirewell, Newberry
DL – Steven Jacobs, Wingate
LB – Rodney Singleton, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – Jasper Mason, Mars Hill
LB – Taylor McDonnell, Newberry
LB – Wayne Soliai, Tusculum
DB – Joe Anderson, Lenoir-Rhyne 
DB – Jakeem Polk, Wingate
DB – LiRonta Archie, Tusculum
DB – Lance Richardson, Newberry
RS – TraShaun Ward, Carson-Newman